What are the most frequent reasons for POIs disappearing between Core updates besides removing bugs? For example, if a POI relocates, is that one way for it to disappear?

Hi, I’m studying a subset of POIs. I found that 672 of these POIs in the March 2020 Core Places are not in the latest 2021 Core Places. Among these, 93 appear in the 09/2019 Monthly Patterns data as well. None of these 93 POIs indicate being permanently closed. What are the most frequent reasons for POIs disappearing between Core updates besides removing bugs? For example, if a POI relocates, is that one way for it to disappear?

Hi @Alex_Zentefis_Yale_University, I am sure you are familiar with the changelog, but here is a link just in case - -Changelog – this will show bug fixes/closings/etc

To your point, if a location relocates, it does in fact get a new SGPID because it is a new place (this should not be confused with the same location being assigned 2 different SafeGraph place IDs – this cannot happen). I do not have a master list of reasons the SGPID might be in 1 core and not the other, but the changelog is your best place to monitor for changes

Thanks, @Jack_Lindsay_Kraken1! I’ll check with my colleagues to see if they have any follow-up questions on this topic and get back to you if they do. Appreciate your help!

Hi @Jack_Lindsay_Kraken1. We’re trying to line up Core Places with Patterns data. We’re focusing on calendar year 2019. We’re thinking of using the most recent Core Places available and using the backfilled monthly Patterns. Related to what I asked earlier, suppose a bank branch was in business for all of calendar year 2019, but closed in January 2020, and then a smoothie shop opened in the same location in March 2020. First, will the bank and the smoothie shop have the same placekey? Second, Patterns data that is backfilled - will it reflect people in 2019 going to the bank, the smoothie shop, or both?