I’m wondering if there are any known data issues that could be causing these anomalies, also seeking advice on how to handle them

Hello, I am studying SafeGraph weekly patterns visit data for parks in Seattle, and am seeing some anomalies. In general I am seeing low, flat visitation for most of 2018 and then some extreme spikes in 2019. For example, this small park (Dahl Playfield) in a residential neighborhood is showing a few hundred visits per week in 2019, >80k visits (and >50k unique visitors) the week of 2019-09-02, and a few thousand visits per week after that. If I extrapolate that 80k visits by SafeGraph’s sampling rate for King County that week, it’s over 1.2 million visits, nearly double the population of Seattle, so that seems impossible. I’m wondering if there are any known data issues that could be causing these anomalies, also seeking advice on how to handle them.

This topic was automatically generated from Slack. You can find the original thread here.

Hey @Jeffrey_Kyllo - thanks for flagging! Could be an issue with the Geometries for this POI. Looping some other team members into this. Will update later when I get more information.

Thanks, I will try plotting the polygon for this park on a map and see if it looks correct

Hi Alex! The polygon in the latest release looks pretty good to me, and if you’re using data from the July 2021 backfill then the same polygon was used throughout history for the visits (so there’s no chance of the polygon being odd just for those few weeks).

I can confirm that 2019-09 is indeed peculiar here, but still trying to figure out why. All of the other columns look fairly normal, so it might be some odd sink of devices that converged at that park. Will report back!

Thanks Jeff. I think I have a few more examples of parks POIs in Seattle with anomalies like this, would you like me to send a list?

Yes please, if you can!

Here are a couple more anomalies I found, that I can’t explain with local events or holidays: