Did any folks check whether a POI’s location name matches its geographic location and street address?

Hi all. I am new to SafeGraph. I have a question about the accuracy of POIs. Did any folks check whether a POI’s location name matches its geographic location and street address? I explored POIs in Yellowstone National Park and extracted 80 POIs from the SafeGraph dataset. However, after checking POIs by Google Map, there are only 40 POIs that match their location names, geographic locations, and street addresses.

Hi @Yun_Liang_Penn_State_University, I will give some information and you let me know if it can explain what you are seeing.

1st, it is important to note that SafeGraph does not take data from Google Places, but rather scrapes multiple sources to create the dataset we work with (similar to how Google works), thus there are bound to be discrepancies in remote locations like Yellow Stone – in terms of which is more correct, I typically will try to search the location organically and see if I can find a website that confirms either of the addresses (Google or SafeGraph). If that doesn’t work, you can always try checking against a 3rd party API, just make sure it isnt just a portal for Google Places

In terms of geographic location, if you are referring to Lat and Lng, how far off are the points? lat/lng typically vary quite a bit from place to place which is part of what makes Placekey so useful

If you would like, post 5 or so POI from the 40 that don’t match and we can try and work through which is which.

Thank you for this @Yun_Liang_Penn_State_University I will dig into this tomorrow and let you know what I find!

@Jack_Lindsay_Kraken1 thank you so much!

Hi @Yun_Liang_Penn_State_University , just letting you know I am a bit behind but havent forgotten about this! I will get back with my findings asap

No problem. Take your time.