Can I reference SafeGraph data in my thesis?

Hello All, I have a (hopefully) quick question about publishing a paper with SafeGraph data! I have an embargo on my masters thesis for two years since I plan to publish a paper using similar methodologies and do not want those methods released prematurely to the public. However, I know that I signed an agreement with SafeGraph promising to discard of the data I downloaded after one year. I definitely intend to do that, but will it be a problem if my thesis (which used the same SafeGraph) data is published two years later? Will that be considered a breach of this agreement (even though the raw SafeGraph data is not in my thesis, it’s just that the thesis’ results are derived from that data)? Thanks! Arianna, MSCE student, Purdue University

This topic was automatically generated from Slack. You can find the original thread here.

Hey @Arianna_Rambaram_Purdue_University ! Should not be a problem if you want to publish your paper later down the line. Since you’re not sharing raw SafeGraph data, it should be fine. Thanks for asking!

Thanks for the quick response, Niki. I actually have another question now because I want to make sure I’m being accurate when I say no raw data is in my thesis.